Thanks

recruiters for the game industry

hey guys---
    ive recently been on the job hunt in the game industry and one of the places i check every so often is

www.gamejobs.com

i saw some concept art positions open and i sent my stuff to a recruiter at coolgamejobs

im new to this, so my question is--are recruiters a good or bad thing? he told me that i wouldnt be obligated to pay him--that he would receive a finders fee from teh company.

your wisdom on this would be appreciated

ty

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,435 Times in 2,935 Posts
    to be honest, i do not know of one decent game agent or recruiter anymore. Jamie Black from studio-search used to be the best..but she has left the industry.

ive had recruiters lie to me every time trying to get me to take the job. their pay depends on you signing. its like buying a used car. they will sell you whatever cars they got on the lot.

you might get lucky.

to be honest, id rather deal with the clients myself and just ask for more money...recruiters are taking 25 percent fees based on your salary. if you take a job that pays a hundred thousand...the studio has to pay the recruiter 25k on top of your salary. that goes against money you would get as a raise often times...because companies have only so much budget for salaries. once it is spent...its spent.

Deal with them with caution. They sound trustworthy but have always proven to be the other way around.

I had a recruiter send me to a company that closed doors three weeks later. what do they care? all they want is the jing.

j

Thanks