Cintiq 21 flashing off! HELP!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Cintiq 21 flashing off! HELP!

    Hey all-
    I just recently purchased a Cintiq 21 after some extensive research and using one at my job for a while now. The problem I am having at home, however is that when trying to use it in Photoshop, I am getting shaky blue pixels all over the work until the screen basically turns itself off and on again. Anyone experience anything like this? Could it be a graphics card issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    798
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 218 Times in 173 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I dont think its the graphics card, if it doesnt happen in your original monitor, then it shouldnt happen on the cintiq, sounds to me like a defective unit... better talk to the store u got it from.

    -We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.

    -Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon 'em.

    My SKETCHbook
    http://jeeso.deviantart.com/
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Hope not!

    Yikes, I really hope that's not the case. I tried switching my main monitor with my secondary monitor on the body of the mac. Seems to be holding steady for the moment. Gonna play around try and paint and keep you in the loop. Thanks for getting back to me!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 84 Times in 77 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by getrandy View Post
    Yikes, I really hope that's not the case. I tried switching my main monitor with my secondary monitor on the body of the mac. Seems to be holding steady for the moment. Gonna play around try and paint and keep you in the loop. Thanks for getting back to me!
    I seem to recall reading somewhere here that a secondary monitor had caused trouble for someone. Maybe try using just one with it.

    www.findphil.com for a look at my older stuff
    www.facebook.com/vig.illustrationgraphics for recent stuff
    http://velikan.tumblr.com/ for the latest up-to-the-minute stuff, and process nonsense
    And finally, http://www.here-there-be-monsters.net/ is the place to be if you want to buy some of my work that has been kitted by the talented hand of Dave.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    It could also be a bad cable.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 669 Times in 190 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I had real problems when I first set up my kit, cintiq 21 as primary, widescreen monitor as secondary. The cintiq would go blank and power down/sleep. My ports are one dvi and one hdmi only, so I didn't have much choice in swapping over. I 'fixed' it by adding the monitor cable extension (that came with the cintiq) onto the existing cintiq dvi cable, works perfectly ever since. Not sure why, but saved getting a dvi to hdmi adapter.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    My 24HD did this today. It hadn't happened before. One thing is has been doing WAY more than a $2500 monitor should is that it will drop EDID information and drop to 800x600. I have to disconnect power and let it reset for the issue to go away.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 1

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside
Register

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
The Art Department
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook