Art: Please critique my skills

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Please critique my skills

Hello there, I'm Josh Gregory. I am a concept artist attending UH for Digital Media/Photography since I can't find a public TX college that has a major that involves digital art.
    I didn't really start digital art until about December 2010 when I got my first tablet. For over a year I used GIMP and Paint.net to do my art. It wasn't until December of last year that I got Photoshop Elements then upgraded to Photoshop CS5 a month ago.
    I have less than 2 years left of college so I need to improve my skills. I know my skills are not that great. I want anybody that replies to give me a good honest response, I don't care how harsh it is.

Attached Images Attached Images                  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You've never drawn from life haven't you? You must start with classic media, a pencil, a piece of paper and a subject. Digital media can be really cold if you don't know how to use it properly and you drawings are so cold cause you don't know how surface and lines work (yet).

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I agree with Hitsu-san, drawing from life is really important foundation.
    I have been doing a lot of that this year and the improvement in this short time is amazing.

I was also wondering, do you work in layers are just on one? Using many layers can really help out.
    So far your digital works are rather rough, I know a lot of concept artist tend to work roughly, but it feels like you need more filling, more of a paint-like style in your digital works. I think you just need to experiment with different styles of digital art

Best of luck.

Does the walker choose the path or the path choose the walker?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Ameza View Post