The Game Players - W.I.P

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The Game Players - W.I.P

Hey all.

I studied sculpture in art school and recently I've been exploring illustration. Never having drawn much in a critical environment, I'm looking for some serious input in any an all areas. Please feel free to be harsh; I love what I've been doing, and am deeply invested in improving.

Since I work entirely on my own, I'm trying to hone my ability to see flaws in my own work. I don't mean to pre-empt criticism in these areas, but these are things I've spotted on my own and would like more specific input on:

- Arm anatomy: as if I wasn't cheating enough by giving these guys big, billowy robes, I managed to botch some of the only anatomy that's showing! The guy on the left seems to have a few extra joints all over the place.

-Rendering Fabric: this has always been a huge weakness of mine when drawing from imagination... the areas of shadow and light on their robes need serious work. I'm always looking for new exercises and tips for rendering clothing and fabric in a way that doesn't call attention to itself.

- "Chess"board: minor perspective issues between the pieces and the board itself

- Balance of Image: the overall composition is too bottom heavy, and I believe I need to bring some more dark areas into that amorphous white space behind the characters.

This piece is approximately 80% finished. It will be completed in B&W, with no color added.

"The Game Players" 15" x 23 " Ink on Bristol

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I like the design and the facial expressions. You've created an interesting sense of narrative. Only things I'd work on are the extremities that push out into that harsh white space. The contrast is super harsh, and I can't make out areas like hood/hair style of the guy on the left. It gets a bit too washed out.