Thanks

Where to find commission work?

Not sure where to post this, so if I've made a mistake please just move the thread, thanks.

I've been looking to get into doing some commissions lately to fill in the gaps between projects. This is my first time doing commissions and I'm having trouble figuring out how to go about it. I just put up a commissions page on my blog a few minutes ago, but considering I haven't ever done commissions before I'm not sure that's gonna attract a lot of attention. I've been thinking of posting on DA since that's where a lot of my friends get their commission work, but I haven't really been very good about updating my DA site.

What specific/forums sites do you all frequent to look for commissions? I'm looking at fantasy/sci-fi work predominantly, but feel free to post any sites here that you think might be helpful to me and others as well.

Thanks!

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,944 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Getting any kind of freelance commission work will only happen if people know you
    exist. Put yourself out there as much as possible, but also be aware of your
    client base. DA has about 5000000 artists willing to sell themselves so low that
    its actually a joke. Not only are the majority of the jobs there, hilarious in their
    pay scale, those offering the jobs have an easy time picking out a desperate
    naive kid with a smattering of talent, who has no real bills to pay and just needs cash
    to cover the Christopher Hart collection in his Amazon wish list.

At rpg.net you quite often get publishers looking for artists. However the RPG industry
    can be demanding in its workload and does not pay the best. It can be a foot in the door
    however the competition is very strong. (But I suppose that is no different than any
    other aspect of the industry)

I would also suggest trolling through drivethrurpg and checking out the publisher sites