"alternate" career (not counting macdonalds cashier)

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

"alternate" career (not counting macdonalds cashier)

I'm a 2nd year student at OCAD (Canada). I'm not really happy with the schooling environment, or rather, I don't feel comfortable with the idea of doing fine art as a business. Overtime I find myself more interested in fantasy art because I feel more in tuned to share those kinds of ideas. I don't want to give up drawing at all and am considering switching schools that match my needs.

My parents thinks that if I can't even attempt to finish my degree I have no "face" to switch to another school and that art isn't within my personality. I feel really mixed because the idea of only doing art as a hobby when "I have time" in favor of 9 to 5 job is hard to swallow. I'm perfectly aware how long/hard it is to get an art-related job even after graduation.

Am I naive (to the factor of a great number) or what?

I'm just curious what others are doing after graduation regardless if they ever did what they might have intended as a freshman.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    But what do you want to switch to compared to where you are coming from?

I mean, fantasy art requires the same art basics as drawing/painting fine art I guess?
    -So are you talking 3D or something?

And how long do you have left?

Fantasy art also includes very nice looking castles and sceneries that you'll need to master... Along with anatomy, even for the big ugly ogre and the gorgeous pegasus...

I'm planning to switch into animation/illustration and is interesting in concept art. I don't mind editorials or storybooks either.