A trend I noticed now that I have a tumblr
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A trend I noticed now that I have a tumblr

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

A trend I noticed now that I have a tumblr

Is it just me or do a lot of (amateur?) digital illustrators tend to paint the same blank-faced woman staring straight at the viewer?

Variations on this theme include headshots, branches/antlers coming out of the hair, physics-bending headresses, bedroom eyes accompanied by slightly parted lips, etc...

Maybe it's just because I'm new to digital illustration but that is something I see a ton of. Thoughts?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. The Following User Says Thank You to bodied For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 936 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Pics or it didnt happen.

TinyBird is offline Why you gotta be an angry burd Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,652 Times in 1,617 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by bodied View Post
    Is it just me or do a lot of (amateur?) digital illustrators tend to paint the same blank-faced woman staring straight at the viewer?
    Variations on this theme include headshots, branches/antlers coming out of the hair, physics-bending headresses, bedroom eyes accompanied by slightly parted lips, etc...
    You mean Audrey Kawasaki?
    *rimshot*
    Name:  15gfaz8.jpg
Views: 1114
Size:  352.3 KB
    (they're pretty but they're all the same girl in valium)

Anyway I've seen people draw stuff like that for a long time (stylized headshot = easy) in about everywhere but I'd guess repetitions can be easier to notice in Tumblr's constant and neverending stream.

"I eat comics and poop stylization"
    Comic!
    Sketchbook (Critiques, no compliments please.)
    Tumblr
    Website
    Livejournal
    DeviantArt

5. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to TinyBird For This Useful Post:

Thanks