Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Color theory

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Color theory

Hello,

have a question about coloring. Sorry to pop in unannounced, wanted to write a PN to someone but didn't work. So I have to ask somewhere in public forum and it's very much going on everywhere and so I don't know where to ask. I hope this is half-way the right place.

I'm pretty new to painting and unsure about the colors to choose. I searched about that here and found out that most people recommend to do value studies (which I will do) first before using color.

A friend of mine is good at coloring (I can't ask him in personal atm) and he often uses the whole palette for skin colors and the skin he does looks alive and shining while I use (because of insecurity which colors to choose) skin tones and so what I do looks grey, brown, pale and boring. He told me to use some blue or red but I don't know where or why. There's also these paintings where portraits are done in completely not skin-toned colors and they don't look wrong either. I don't get why and how to do this.

When I try to choose a palette for a portrait I pick the main tone first. Then the insecurities start - I don't know how to pick the darker tone for shadows (should it be more saturated or less, or the same? Or doesn't that matter?) and the highlight one. I also never know if it is enough to pick 3 and how to blend them together. I usually pick 5 to blend them but the result often looks washed-out.
    I also never use functions in PS like multiply or stuff - should I? I never saw why this should come in handy, I prefer the old fashioned way of doing it without those tricks before.