When do you step away/give up on a painting?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: When do you step away/give up on a painting?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

When do you step away/give up on a painting?

Hey CA, I am a digital hobbyist and I have an nit-picking problem.

I know I have to practice to get my images where I want them to be, and I do gesture sketches and draw from my loomis book every week. With digital artwork though, I always seem to get strung up on each piece until I finish it. Even if it's an image I don't care about, one that's for fun or practice, I'll get hooked. I tell myself "Oh this is just for shits. I want to practice (insert anything)." Thirty hours later I'll still be redoing a hang nail on the left thumb. It won't even be that great.

It's really holding me back. I'm not sure if there or some secret, maybe I just need to commiserate, but how do other artists just tell themselves it isn't working? Has anyone else had this problem?

Sketchbook.
    DeviantArt.
    Follow Me On Tumblr!

“Success consists of getting up just one more time than you fall.” -Oliver Goldsmith

"I'm sick of following my dreams. I'm just going to ask them where they're goin', and hook up with them later. " -Mitch Hedberg
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Save your work as different files constantly, step back and look where you previously were. This helps you to see at which point you've started to relentlessly polish (and stopped learning) and began to drain life from the work.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Work on multiple paintings at the same time. When you get frustrated with one move to another. Often a fresh perspective is all you need.

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Shorinji_Knight For This Useful Post:

Thanks