Sketchbook: Jh's Sketchbook - Study! Practice! Apply!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Jh's Sketchbook - Study! Practice! Apply!

Hello, Conceptart.org!

So uh, new guy here! My name's Junhong, 20 years old, from Singapore. And I'm hoping to use this sketchbook to hone my skills in drawing and design.

I was fortunate enough to go a digital media design school, where they taught drawing, colour theory, 3D, animation, etc. Halfway through I got hooked onto digital painting and concept art all the while doing 3D stuff for school projects (I specialized in game art and design, which focused a lot of 3D and production). So when I graduated my portfolio works were just all over the place - I had digital paintings here and 3D environments there and all sorts of other random stuff.

I still want to do concept art and design. So after graduation I tried to work on some digital paintings.

And well, all I found out was that my skills were seriously lacking and that it was pointless to do all these paintings if I didn't even get the basics of drawing, anatomy, light and colour right. I did some practicing by myself for awhile but I found it was difficult (and boring) doing it alone. Also it was quite hard to judge my work for myself and to see what are the aspects that I need to improve on. So I decided it was time to stop lurking around forums and to get some serious help!

I really want to improve and I hope you guys will be willing to guide me along. And any critiques, tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. I would love to join in the activities you guys have here as well!

I'll do my best to update as often as I can. Though in my current situation, I'm afraid I can only post during the weekends as the rest of the time I'll be away from home.