Take the Scholarship?

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Take the Scholarship?

Hey guys! After lurking on this site for years I finally decided to make an account to ask my own question. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

I wanted to know if anybody knows about the credibility/track record of University of Central Florida AND/OR San Jose State University for animation majors?

I am split between these two schools and have an interest in Character Animation as a major. I have also considered SCAD and Ringling, but am not willing to go into debt for the rest of my life. I'm currently a student at a community college looking to transfer after my Associates degree....I am also a Florida resident, I have won a 4-year Florida scholarship that pays 75% of my tuiton costs at any public schools in the state which puts UCF at a financial advantage.

The dilema is, I have heard very little about UCF's animation program from others around the Web (their emerging media school is seperatly called SVAD) and I have yet to find or hear about any students who have went there (I'd be interested in seeing their work). Personally, I like San Jose State University since the major covers both Animation and Illustration which gives you more skills to look at carreer-wise (storyboarding, concept art, character design, etc.). I was not disappointed by their student work one bit and I feel that the California location would provide much more networking and job opportunities...the only problem is paying out of state tuiton costs which would feel ridiculous when I already have a pretty good scholarship in Florida.