Thanks

What to do when uninspired?

I have been a professional artist for over 20 years, and as of late (4 months), I haven't painted. I can't get back my inspiration to paint. This slump is getting worse with every passing day, and when I "force" the work, I become more discouraged. Any tips on getting back the desire? I've even tried other mediums, but the excitement didn't last. I need inspiration!

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    "Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working."

-Pablo Picasso.

Sounds like you need a deadline. Get a commission for an illustration or portrait that has to be done by a certain date, then inspiration becomes irrelevant.

If you are really tired of art, perhaps it is time for a career change?

4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to blogmatix For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 2,362 Times in 1,214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KlineCreative View Post
    I've even tried other mediums, but the excitement didn't last.
    I tend to go in cycles. Around the time when my interest in one medium is waning I start flipping through old sketchbooks or magazines or books and start thinking "hey... it's been a long time since I did ink/watercolour/pencil crayons I should get back into it". That way the excitement doesn't need to last, it just needs to carry me to the next bit of excitement.

It's a very natural, seasonal sort of way of working. Like it makes more sense for me to do digital art or art from photos over the winter when I can't paint outside. Likewise I can usually drag myself out to paint over the summer because I know the weather will be crap soon so I'd better get while the getting is good.

I never have any shortage of inspiration working this way, but I do pay for it with a certain lack of focus.
    *** Sketchbook * Landscapes * Portfolio * Store***

"There are two kinds of students: the self-taught and the hopeless."
    - Dr. Piotr Rudnicki