Thanks
    Thanked 1,009 Times in 538 Posts

CISPA another SOPA/PIPA type bill.

Seems a bit early to grasp it all yet, only a few videos on it, and not many articles. Definitely don't trust RT (Russia Today) news as any sort of reliable source.

But read through the bill. Wording does seem fairly broad and since half of the bill is worded using their own terms they just now defined in the bill which are also broad, it's extremely broad in scope. (From what I see, I'm not an expert though on law)

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/BILLS-1...12hr3523ih.pdf

I think this was the general bulk of the private entities sharing their 'cybersecurity threat intelligence' ... which basically means info they collect. (They literally just tacked on 'cybersecurity' to every definition to make it sound official and scary)

‘‘(1) IN GENERAL.—
    ‘‘(A) CYBERSECURITY PROVIDERS.—Not-
    withstanding any other provision of law, a cy-
    bersecurity provider, with the express consent
    of a protected entity for which such cybersecu-
    rity provider is providing goods or services for
    cybersecurity purposes, may, for cybersecurity
    purposes—
    ‘‘(i) use cybersecurity systems to iden-
    tify and obtain cyber threat information to
    protect the rights and property of such
    protected entity; and
    ‘‘(ii) share such cyber threat informa-
    tion with any other entity designated by
    such protected entity, including, if specifi-
    cally designated, the Federal Government.
    ‘‘(B) SELF-PROTECTED ENTITIES.—Not-
    withstanding any other provision of law, a self-
    protected entity may, for cybersecurity pur-
    poses—

‘‘(i) use cybersecurity systems to iden-
    tify and obtain cyber threat information to
    protect the rights and property of such
    self-protected entity; and
    ‘‘(ii) share such cyber threat informa-
    tion with any other entity, including the
    Federal Government.