Sketchbook: Willmer's Sketchbook: Beginning of something...
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Willmer's Sketchbook: Beginning of something...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Willmer's Sketchbook: Beginning of something...

Hello, welcome to my sketchbook. I am completely new to drawing and painting so this will hopefully be a showcase for my progress as I learn and practice drawing and painting. I am a 23 year old graduate student and just recently realized that I would have to do all the art work for an android game I'm developing. After looking around on CA, I decided to get serious and start my own sketchbook.

I will be looking at a few different books/tutorials to learn the basics such as form, perspective, color, etc and then trying to figure out what exactly a study is and then do some. I welcome all your feedback and critique even if its negative (but I prefer constructive criticism). I am interested in becoming better with the limited time that I have and know that there is a lot of experience and wisdom to be gained from all of you!

Luckily, I have access to Photoshop and Illustrator as well as the ability to check out an Intuos 3 Large from my university until I get my own tablet. My first sketches are the first ones I did on my tablet. I was very surprised how quickly I adapted to drawing on the tablet and hopefully I will get even more comfortable soon.

Sketches for today:
    1. A peach/orange that I drew using some random GIMP/PS tutorial I found. I don't even remember what type of fruit is was supposed to be.

2. A dragonling that I started on. I thought that trying to make the wings more lifelike would be a good start to learning dodging, burning, and smudging.

3. Some skulls I drew with the pencil to see how sketching worked on the tablet. I love how natural the pressure sensitivity feels to me. As I get confident in the lines I've put down, I start automatically pushing harder and defining my sketch better.