Thanks

Withdrew from College, now wayward.

Hi forum,

I was a full-time student in George Brown College last year for Game development. I successfully went through the first year, but upon entering the second year, I went into a state of panic. I can't explain it any other way.

Ever since the beginning of the classes, my mindset has been idealistically (aka stupidly) bent on the fact that I was somehow going to be able to hone my artistic skills and concept art in attending the school for Game Development. The drawing classes were really enjoyable in first year, but the 3D (having never done 3D before except in this program) wasn't really my cup of tea. It felt like a chore, compared to digital/traditional work, and to be honest, I found no interest in it.

The students in my class would dedicate their free time to working on 3D assignments, while I just sat and cringed. 3D work was never something I found interesting to work with. And certainly not when I've never done it before in my life, at that. By the turn of the second year, all the classes were now pure 3D-based. Modelling, level design, assets management, texturing, etc. This was when I realized I had made a big mistake, as far as my career choice went.

I just wish I wasn't so starry-eyed and naive at the beginning.

Drawing was honestly the only thing I was good at, and the thought of wasting another 2 years in the college meant that I get little to none in terms of actually advancing my artistic skills. After a tense apology to my parents, I withdrew from the program all together. Initially, the parents wanted me to study nursing, but I just don't consider myself a math/science person (I don't have the intellect for it). Now that I wasted an entire year on nothing, I feel like I'm stuck running in place. Heck, I'm even afraid to ask my parents to get into an art/animation College for fear that it might not have what I want, and it would have all been a waste again.