The use of references in artwork.

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question The use of references in artwork.

Hi, I'm an student in Illustration and am currently working a graphic novel for my final major project that requires the knowledge of the male anatomy, military uniforms and weapons.
    The best plan of action for me I think is to use a series of photo references of the male figure, the uniforms and weapons.
    But can I use existing artwork as references of my work?
    I asking this because there are some elements in existing work that can be pulled off that real models can't, such as the poses and structures, and I would like to use those elements in my work. But there has been colliding opinions about what is consider Art Theft or tracing which has been frowned upon.
    I simply want to know if it right to reference existing as well as photo reference?

It would be great if I can get this clear for me once and for all!
    Thank you!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,905 Times in 2,546 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    There is no real conflict or confusion...only a lack of experience and awareness of those just getting started (which is ok btw, just don't confuse the two). You can reference anything you want - in fact you can't create something without referencing something - that's just an axiom of creation. You just have to understand what "reference" means - and many don't these days.