Any SELF taught artistis on here?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Any SELF taught artistis on here?

I'm just wondering if there are any professional self taught artists on here, or artists that have had very little schooling.

If so, I'd like to ask you how long it took you to get where your at?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm not a pro, I'm a beginner, I do manage to make some money off what I can do so far,
    tho may aim is higher of course, and I am completely self taught. Haven't taken a formal
    lesson in my life...and it shows!

In any case, there are plenty of folks who are self taught and have an awesome
    level. How long it takes has much to do with how much effort you put in it and keep on
    putting in it.

For instance, you may spend 3 weeks copying arm anatomy, many angles, many poses,
    reading, studying, and you manage to draw a great arm from memory and it helps you
    understand how to draw it from life. I guarantee you, that if you don't draw another arm
    for 2 months you'll find yourself asking where that damn branchialis goes!

"Don't judge a book by it's cover" Frank Frazetta 1928-2010
    RIP Frank.

DA gallery http://michaelsyrigos.deviantart.com/gallery/

CA Sketchbook http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=131601

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Line For This Useful Post:

JeffX99 is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,896 Times in 2,544 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    All artists are self taught. That's what makes it take so long.

What would Caravaggio do?

Portfolio
    Plein Air
    Digital
    Still Life
    Sight Measuring
    Fundamentals

5. The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to JeffX99 For This Useful Post:

+ Show/Hide list of the thanked

Thanks
    Follows
    Following