Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SD, CA
    Posts
    420
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 139 Times in 126 Posts

    Switching layers when undoing

    I'd like to make it so that no matter how many time I hit Undo, the active/highlighted layer will not change (unless of course it is deleted by the undo action). I understand this may not be possible because the undo action would be altering things in inactive (is that the right term?) layers.

    This has caused problems for me before causing me to accidentally paint on the wrong layer.

    Anyone know if it's possible? Thanks in advance!


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kansas city, MO
    Posts
    1,167
    Thanks
    1,422
    Thanked 867 Times in 333 Posts
    Make a snapshot in the history palette after you make your new layer. Highlight the new snapshot and your undos will only go as far as the snapshot.
    Jay's CA.org Sketchbook:
    Jay's Conceptart.org sketchbook

    Check out my portfolio:
    http://jasonrossart.carbonmade.com

    Check out my blog:
    http://mind2pixels.blogspot.com

    "Practice" DOES NOT make perfect...
    "Perfect Practice" makes perfect...

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jason Ross For This Useful Post:


  5. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 89 Times in 56 Posts
    This isn't exactly on subject, but this is something that helps, I've been using smartobjects to make layers un-editable. Basically keeping all my layers as smartobjects until i need to edit them, turning off the smartobject, then turning it back on when i'm done. Its pretty simple and it keeps me from drawing on the wrong layer.

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 35 Times in 26 Posts
    I haven't tried this myself, but I came across this thread with a link to a custom script that is working for the users in the thread: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showt...47#post1251347

Similar Threads

  1. Switching to Mac
    By AndyCarolan in forum Painter
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 6th, 2011, 06:54 PM
  2. Apply Adjustment Layers to Multiple Layers
    By Eloth in forum Photoshop
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 14th, 2010, 11:55 AM
  3. Layers? We don't need no stinking layers.
    By Jie Kageshinzo in forum Art Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: September 20th, 2008, 03:25 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 7th, 2006, 02:57 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 19th, 2006, 07:53 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Developed Actively by the makers of the Best Amazon Podcast