10 Questions about DIY Art School
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

10 Questions about DIY Art School

Hey Guys,
    Since we get a lot of questions here about art education and self-taught artists, I thought some of you might be interested by this. I interviewed Joe Wilson about his blog, DIY Art School.

You Can read the whole article here.

Here's a small sample to whet your appetite.
    -What was the biggest shock you got when you finished school and you tried to get work “in the real world”?

Before art school I think I would have shocked to know that very very few people who graduate art school are anywhere near ready to be employed. By the time I graduated I think I knew I wasn’t ready. I didn’t even try to get work because I knew I still needed to build a better portfolio. Maybe I would have been shocked to learn I still needed years of maturing and improving my skills, but I don’t think even completely occurred to me. I kind of just thought I needed to keep doing portfolio pieces, not realizing that I should have continued working on fundamental skills with most of my time and effort.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to Qitsune For This Useful Post:

+ Show/Hide list of the thanked

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks Qitsune! I had a lot of fun answering your questions, and I think you asked me things that no one previously ever has.

I really think that it's time for there to be a bit of a revolution in how we approach education, especially for those of us in the USA where higher education debt is increasingly crushing.