Studying alone
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Studying alone

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Studying alone

Hi

So, first I'd like to say that I'm an amateur rather than someone who studies art in artistic school.
    I'm 19 years old and I've just started more involved experience with art.
    My first "little step" was when at 7 I found book "Heads and portraits" written by J.M. Parramonn, I loved that book, I had spent many hours trying to "copy" pictures from that book, but I didn't have someone who could tell me more important informations about bases. So, discouraged I gave up it around age of 12.

I think I had to mature to understand what is really important in art.

Now as a more mature person, I want to start my experience again.
    At this moment I've read only a few books about this topic, but these most
    intersting:
    -Loomis Books;
    -Classical drawing atelier;
    -Charles Bargue Drawing Course.

For these moment I have a concept of "feeling the form", I know what it is, but still have the problems with achieving it, maybe some of you know the best exercises to train it?

BTW: I don't want to go artistic school, because I think there is a chance that I would do things I don't want, I would like to study medicine next year, so I will have a much lessons to study a human anatomy.

And so pictures of my the most favourite drawings of artists I want to study:

I love the beauty of soft line of these studies

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

TinyBird is offline Why you gotta be an angry burd Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,652 Times in 1,617 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    How about you post your art too?

"I eat comics and poop stylization"
    Comic!
    Sketchbook (Critiques, no compliments please.)
    Tumblr
    Website
    Livejournal
    DeviantArt