rhinotaur
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: rhinotaur

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

rhinotaur

Hi guys, this is my first post on CA. Just wanted to put some feelers out there and see what people think of my stuff. I'm having doubts as to whether I should pursue a career as an illustrator/concept artist, or just keep this as a hobby. At thirty four I still lack the confidence to apply for art jobs. I keep telling myself that I'll send off my portfolio one day, but I'm never satisfied with it. Being self taught I never really get feedback or validation from tutors or peers, so I'm craving a critique at the moment. Thanks.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 2,230 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    The first thing that jumps at me is the value structure. You've got a very bright highlight on the rhino's head, and a matching one on the girl's face - but the girl is lit from a different angle, and there are no such highlights on the rest of the rhino's body or the girl's costume.

I have a suspicion that you've lifted the rhino's head from a photo, and didn't quite manage to match the lighting on the rest of the picture.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to arenhaus For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,248 Times in 588 Posts
    Follows
    Following

5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Venger For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey Ferret42

Firstly, I really like your concept, it's quite original! Really great detail on this image and your lighting is really tight too, good job!

If I may make a some suggestions,

-The image as a whole is a bit monochrome, a bit like a sepia photo.

-Your extreme darks on the rhino head are inconsistent with the rest of he recesses (darken the area arouen his crotch)

-Pay more attention to your woman's face: since the rhino is hyper realism, it looks odd next to him.