Sketchbook: Vil's sketchbook

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Vil's sketchbook

Hey guys!
    I've been drawing and painting (primarily digitally) for nearly nine years now. But it's been a little mechanical lately - I haven't felt like I've improved as much as I used to, and I keep repeating the same patterns, making similar artistic (uncreative!) choices and BLAH.

NO MORE!

This ends now. Now is when I go back to basics: perspective, form, anatomy, colour theory... here I come!

/Vil

Edit
    I've attached the most recent piece I've been working on (on March 4th) - it's a character portrait from imagination. Still a WIP so the hair etc is quite rough, but it serves as a good ref of my starting point.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Vilhelmina; March 4th, 2012 at 12:25 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    These are some environment thumbnails I did really quickly (around 10 minutes ea). They are all for a concept art class I'm taking - I'm going to choose one to go forward with and paint in full colour, so if you guys have any favourite out of these feel free to let me know.

Last edited by Vilhelmina; March 4th, 2012 at 12:22 PM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I think you should paint the top right one. Are you currently in art school?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Welcome to CA, Vil!

I can' really say too much based on what you've been posting but I browsed your gallery on DA a bit and there's a couple of things I feel like mentioning.
    While the anatomy in your paintings is quite good, you play it very safe.