How to self teach concept art
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: How to self teach concept art

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How to self teach concept art

I am coming to all this a bit late. I once went to art school but dropped out. I have not really drawn in the last 10 years bad I know. Really love concept art for games, films and fantasy illustration. I am really inspired and moved by so much of the work on here and other sites. I just want to create work that is of a similar standard for fun at first and then see where it goes.

I want to teach myself all the fundamentals of concept art and illustration such as character and creature design, vehicle, environments and digital painting. It seems that there are so many things to draw and learn. I know people say just draw and draw and with time you will get better. I just wanted to know how other self taught concept artist/Illustrators, maybe of a professional level broke everything down in terms of their learning and if there are any logical steps in terms of things to cover first or process.

My drawing skills are still pretty good, although I do need to spend a lot more time on human anatomy and I have always struggle with faces for some reason. I will start a sketch book here at some point I am sure but want to know how to go about teaching myself concept art/Illustration from others who had been on this journey.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 936 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    To quote TB:

Quote Originally Posted by TinyBird View Post
    Anyway, start with Loomis: http://conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=152626 You can find couple of them as re-published books and other free from Google.
    Here's some good advice: http://conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=26636