Sketchbook: And there was a beginning!
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

And there was a beginning!

Hey All!

I'm hoping to push myself into doing more art. I also would like to be forced to challenge myself I have been sketching and painting for about 10-15 years ... for fun. Meaning like once a week or so when I'm bored. I really miss the good old days when I would sit and draw for hours!

My biggest problems are
    1) not challenging myself when I sit in a rut
    2) not staying consistent

So I'm hoping that being visible to other people will help my art, and maybe that I meet some awesome inspiring people too!

I bought a Bamboo and discovered that new mediums are fun, so anyway here is some stuff I did 3 months ago when I bought this thing. Hopefully I can make a new image every week - all feedback that helps is welcome!

Attached Images Attached Images            
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Week 1 done:

Well this is week one. Since I'm new to using a tablet, I have been trying to do more original work with the stylus. I find this really really hard. With a pencil I can make the shapes and lines I want easily, while just making a straight line with a tablet is difficult.

All the drawings I did in an hour or less. some in under a half hour. I'm currently traveling in Cambodia (sihanoukville if anyone knows it). It can be hard to find time to sit down with power alone!

I am getting faster, and hopefully in another week or 2 I can do the same stuff I can do with a pencil!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

week 3!

I think one of the most interesting thing I have discovered since I started trolling CA is the attitude towards using reference.

Since I want to work on realism in my art, I can see now that constantly using reference is going to be an asset. I can also see that being able to copy, before using reference, is a skill.