Art: Full time illustrator, looking to make a switch to concept art
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Full time illustrator, looking to make a switch to concept art

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Full time illustrator, looking to make a switch to concept art

Hey all. I've been a freelance illustrator working in collectible card games, and other games for a few years.
    You can see my portfolio here: http://www.joewilson-illustration.com/

I've worked with Sony and Blizzard on card game art, in addition to other smaller publishers, and I've been full time with freelance for a few years, so I feel like I have some experience under my belt.

I've been thinking seriously for some time that I'd like to make a switch to concept art, and possibly find a full time position (or even freelance in this other direction). I was hoping I could get a few people working in the field willing to give me some guidance on tailoring my portfolio for this kind of work. I've thrown together a quick blog (not formatted or ready for AD eyes) to show the work I have on hand, and I'm working up more samples that I think are more specific to a concept artist position.

http://joewilson-conceptart.blogspot.com/

I'd love some extra feedback from pros in the field. Stuff like "more of X", "throw out Y", "do a few pages of Z". Maybe some links to "perfect" concept art portfolios. I'm open to any and all advice. Thanks!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Perhaps more examples within the thread rather than a link would generate more of a response.

Last edited by J Wilson; February 29th, 2012 at 11:55 AM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Character portraits were for various Piazo Publishing games and supplements. Most of the rest are personal studies and projects.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Weapon silhouettes