Looking for life advice from the older and wiser of CA
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Icon Looking for life advice from the older and wiser of CA

I have a question that has been bugging me. I want more experienced artists opinions on this.

I've been mulling over an issue as a young artist. My friend and I have been batting around this question, and coming up with opposite answers. I'm curious to hear your thoughts on it.

Is it possible to be an artist and work in other things than just art?

What I mean is, I have polymath tendencies and I worried its going to ruin me. I enjoy learning and exploring lots of different subjects. I like trying new techniques, new mediums, and new materials. I'm an artist, but also a writer, and filmmaker. I also like working out, mountain climbing, traveling around, going to music shows, and having interesting life experiences and going on adventures. Theres lots of different subects outside of art that I'm interested in though to me all of these things relate to my art.

I've also heard a lot of advice that you have to specialize in order to make it as an artist. That you have to devote yourself to just art, and nothing else. My friend insists that if you want to make it as an artist, you can't be a polymath. You have to restrict yourself to just art, and not just art but a specific section of art. If you want to do illustration you can't do anything else. You have to spend all your free time drawing and nothing else, or else you're doomed to failure. You have to hone your skills to a razor sharp edge at the expense of putting time into other things.