Art: Finally decided on graphic design

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Finally decided on graphic design

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Finally decided on graphic design

Hello, I am a sophomore in highschool and I have decided to try art. I think Im creative enough to try, with ideas constantly floating in and out of my head. I took the PSAT, put Visual Arts as an interest, and got letters from both Brown and RISD. Knowing about their dual enrollement thing, I decided to look up what a portfolio is made up of. I wanted to know if I want to apply to RISD or any other art school, can my portfolio be made up of only graphic designs? i know i should put in sketches, however i am not talented at any other art (painting, drawing, oils, sculpting, etc.) except Photography.

I guess Im just asking:
    if i can limit myself to just Graphic Design in my portfolio.
    What I should put in my portfolio. (subject matter, still lives, etc.)
    And is there anything i can do to increase my chances of getting into an art school?

Thank you, and i apologize in advance if im posting this in the wrong area.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hello

Can you explain more in detail about Graphic Design? Examples such as advertising, logo making, posters, flyers etc.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Ummm. I would focus more on Kidkiyzer said. Graphic design is more along the lines of Brochures, letterhead, logos, packaging, etc... Having a good understanding of color harmony, composition, etc helps. Since you are in highschool, I am assuming you haven't done any actual design work. You can make some up at this stage. I would do something like.

1. Business card, letterhead, envelope redesign
    2. logo design
    3. a brochure or booklet
    4. poster & postcard