Art: My first landscape

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: My first landscape

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Smile My first landscape

Last edited by hawxori; February 22nd, 2012 at 08:02 AM. Reason: Forgot to put the picture :)
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    At first you'd want to resize that quite a bit. In my opinion there is no clear focal point, and I also find the brushwork too messy and overdone. Perspective is also a bit off, the pillars in the back seems distorted

Seek your own acceptance.

Sketchbook

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Reaping For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm only learning myself but here is some stuff the pros taught me.

Sketching. Sometimes if you have an idea in your head, it can help to do several variations of it with very small, quick sketches first just to sort out any composition issues and such. You can use this sketch as a rough guide for the painting itself.

My first landscape

Brush economy. Try to tell as much as you can with as few brush strokes as possible. Early on in a landscape painting it helps to set out your shapes with big bold strokes. Custom brushes will help a lot with this. Allowing you to apply texture to your work easily with little to no fuss.

My first landscape