Sketchbook: alizak - a newbie on a mission

View testimonialsView Artwork
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

alizak - a newbie on a mission

Hi all,

I think the title of my sketchbook says it all. I am pretty much a complete newbie - I used to love drawing when I was in high school, then in university I only doodled during lectures, then in my first year of my PhD (which I subsequently quit) I did some life drawing classes and I haven't drawn since then - so no drawing since 2005!!!

Since my ex-husband dumped my pregnant ass I have been trying to bring my creative side back - so I am dusting off my pencils and getting into it one again. With two little ones to chase around every day I don't have much time for art - but I am going to try my hardest to draw at least one thing a day. I'm hoping one day to write and illustrate books for children within the fantasy genre - so this is the start of my journey! I'm currently reading "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" by Betty Edwards, so a lot of my sketchbook entries will be exercises from that book.

Thanks for reading if you got this far and please leave a comment if you want me to come check out your sketchbook - I would also love any critiques - I'm here to learn!

Thanks all - alizak.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

More exercises

These are some of the initial (pre-instruction) exercises from Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain - my hand, a chair and a corner of a room.

I am hoping that by the time I finish this book that I can improve upon all of these drawings.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

For fun

Some more sketches from the last week. Tried to sketch some onions while my three year old had some art time - I think it looks semi-decent, but I think I am still not really looking at what I am drawing as much as I should be.