How have you recovered from burn out?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: How have you recovered from burn out?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How have you recovered from burn out?

I have had some major art issues and bummers that led to a complete drought of creativity and made me feel completely burnt out and depressed. Finally after 2+ years I am feeling the desire to create again. Anyone else experience this? How can I foster this creativity more, I don't want to relapse into my former state again...felt like the worst feeling in the world.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,010 Times in 539 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Welcome to my sketchbook lol.

But anyways, what helped me foster creativity was trying something I've never done before, then improving while doing it. For me it was comics, they got me drawing and help practice a bunch of stuff. Then I got a tablet for the first time, so using a new medium helped.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I really want to try paint but every venture I take into ends up looking terrible and it gets me down

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    When I feel a little slump in creativity, I take time to look at other people's work. Always gets the juices going.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I find that my mood alters my desire to draw, and not so much vice versa. When I don't feel like drawing or feel 'burned out', its almost always an unresolved issue I have that has little to do with actual drawing. If it is to do with drawing, its usually feeling inferior art-wise, but I've come past that quite a lot recently.
    I used to be obsessed but not so much disciplined with drawing as a teenager but I didnt spend much time doing it because of angsty unresolved issues. Now in my early 20s I've flip flopped that mindset, I've grown out of those problems and im able to draw a lot more.