I failed my Art I class by 3 points?!
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question I failed my Art I class by 3 points?!

So I've been attending Full Sail University since September now, but I've only just taken Art I this past month (Jan). The other classes were the basics I took online. Now I'm no horrible artist. I know I need work, I even told myself to get my own style of art I would need to start over and learn the basics. Full Sail didn't really teach me the basics... We just did assignments I've done back in Art I during High School. Drawing Still Life shapes and Fruit, color knowledge with our simple characters, and linear perspective. The ladder two are what I really felt that I learned. Now my work wasn't bad. All of the studio artist (These are the students who help the teacher that graduated) and the teacher himself said my work was definitely going to get me a good passing grade.

Now grading day was yesterday and I was one of the lucky few to be graded by the head director of our Art department, Brian Densmore. Me, along with a few others failed. I was the only one who failed by three points though. Brian talked to me one on one, telling me he could tell I had some great skill because of one piece and thought it was outstanding, but felt I needed to be held back to go over the basics of Art again before he allowed me to move on. I showed some other classmates who passed and they both agreed my work was way better than a 67. One of the guys even said my work was better than his. He also said Art was based on perspective from other people and felt that I should have been graded by other people as well, instead of just one person who barely failed me.