Sketchbook: Plateau jumper

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Plateau jumper

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Plateau jumper

My name is Michael Lawler and I'm a 31 year old artist that is studying art to improve both my craft and myself.
    My goal is to sustain my family through art and to reach a level where the ideas I have are realized with as little loss of quality from brain to canvas as possible. I'm open to feedback and anyone is welcome. I only ask that if you think something is off, leave feedback. Best of luck to everyone else in your journeys.

Quick links for anyone who needs help finding a place to start with art:
    Drawsh figure drawing site: link
    Figure & Gesture Drawing Tool: link
    Pose Maniacs: link
    Bumskee's Digital Painting thread: link
    The Mastery Webinar: link

NOTE: All images have been resized so they don't break the forum

This is the last thing I did in 2011:
    Plateau jumper

The image before that is the first digital painting from me in more than a year.. so the values and saturation is completely out of control.

These are my latest studies:
    Plateau jumper

Plateau jumper

From here on out I'll be using the attachment managers.. I didn't in this post because of the need for exact placement within the posting.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by 4tonmantis; February 7th, 2012 at 11:44 AM. Reason: Added graphic for main page
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Value study

I did this study in the dark with just the little tea light illuminating the skull.
    The main goals were to play with edges a little and push some low-light values so I get a better understanding. The white is blown out I think.. and I don't think I used a dark enough color for my dark tone..