Art: Gallery/Portfolio thing, plus industry questions

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Gallery/Portfolio thing, plus industry questions

Hello everyone. I've been lurking around the site for a long time and have posted occasionally but not in a long time.

I have been working on various commissions and jobs since 2007, using the work to develop at the same time. However, I have come to a stalemate almost the past year.

My predicament is that most of the work I do is for little compensation (too little), yet I have some clients I work with on a normal basis so I have a small cash flow. The problem arises from the need to make at least that small amount of money to survive, the need to work better to improve so as to pursue higher paying clients and the fact that the work I am being commissioned for and the time I have to do it and the pay, isn't worth investing in working correctly (making a thumbnail studies, a tonal study at least and getting some reference to make a better image) mostly because it will take too long to complete and I will need money sooner!!! What a paradox. Also, I prefer to work with oils or at least acrylics to learn, improve and make those my mainstay, I don't quite like the digital medium, I struggle with it.

Another part of the problem is that I do not know and cannot find new employers (there's only some many RPG developers I know of) that will be able to pay somewhat more, so that I can invest in the imagery more but mostly to be able to develop a new portfolio showing my full skill!!!

In other words, I am too good for who I am currently working for, but not as good for higher profile work, and do not have the time to invest to get there (even tho I know some of my shortcomings!!!).