Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Kino's Sketchbook

Hey everyone,

Been a member of the forum for a little bit.
    Decided that I want to start drawing again and thus make a sketch book.
    I am a beginner and I read Loomis/Vilppu/Rockman so now I am just improving my technical skill.

Present Project: To fill the flower page with more flowers to better understand how they are drawn.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I really want to improve my drawing of flowers and yet I can't seem to get them to really look good.

Are there any tips you guys can offer me in terms of drawing flower pictures?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    drawing flowers is just like drawing anything else-- observe carefully and learn how they work :]

Try to use a long sweep of your arm to draw a line, instead of composing a line of many small lines. Start with -the- most basic forms first; don't just start in drawing detailed lines. Also, keep your pencil sharp for linework!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thank you Vekke. I feel like when it comes to conveying value though I just can not seem to shade in a way to actually depict it carefully. I try to observe but when I hatch it it than looks like crap so I end up smoothing it out, thus making it look worse and mono-valued.

I would love to convey a flowers form like this: http://browse.deviantart.com/traditi...flower#/d5rrhp

But everytime I try I fail lol

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for stopping by my SB Drawings are looking great ..we need more!

One thing to concentrate on is trying to incorporate at least 3 types of line and 3 types of tone in the drawings which will make them pop. So a light tone, a mid tone and a shadow tone with both line and shade.