Art: Pre-College Portfolio. Need help!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Pre-College Portfolio. Need help!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Pre-College Portfolio. Need help!

Hey, guys RISD Pre-College applications are open, and I find I'm having a difficult time choosing only five pieces for my portfolio in order to apply for a scholarship. One of them is required to be a black and white drawing in a dry, fixable medium. The rest is free game, but they want applicants to demonstrate a wide proficiency in a variety of mediums. This is my first time ever assembling a portfolio, and I was wondering if any of you with more experience could help a girl out? My first choice major is Illustration.

I've written my essay and my weighted GPA is a 4.6 (out of 4.8), so I'm not really worried about not being academically eligible. I just need help choosing which pieces to include or if you feel that there aren't five portfolio-worthy pieces and that I should do more.

EDIT: I sent my application out today. Cross your fingers for me!

Last edited by l'Aria; January 11th, 2012 at 06:41 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Your still life art is amazingly good put those in definitely.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Capt Surge For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Could you post their specific guidelines? That would help tons with which ones you should enter. Just copy paste in the instructions.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Capt Surge: Thanks so much! I don't know if I'll be able to put all of my still-life pieces in because I'd like to include one or two pieces from imagination. Are there any in particular you like?

SweetPea: I summarized in my first post, but if you rather I copy what was said in their guidelines: