laptop for painter?
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: laptop for painter?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

laptop for painter?

So do you use a mac or a pc when it comes to digital work? I am split between a cheaper but wider screen dell laptop and a smaller screen mac pro with similar pricing:

http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/pr...n&s=bsd&~ck=mn

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/hom...ly/macbook_pro

Anyone have experience with both? I have never done digital painting before. I plan to use it for painter 12, and possibly photoshop.

My Sketchbook

Twinkle, twinkle little star
    I don't wonder what you are
    For by spectroscopic ken
    I know that you are hydrogen - Ian D.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    If you're going to use Mac, just know that 64 bit is not available yet for Painter 12 (dunno what ETA they do have it ready for).

I use an i3 laptop (lenovo) with 8 gbs of ram and it performs just fine for my needs. It worked on a B940 duo core previous to that, and an older Lenovo as well as the Motion Computing LE1700

I pretty much do not pay any more than 500 for a laptop. Besides macbooks, other laptops just drop in price so fast that 1200 you spent could have saved up for a Cintiq or a better tablet/monitor parts for a PC.

I just see little justification in it, and that even includes slate PCs. I know people may have the cash to spend and enjoy the Samsung slate, but I don't see many blogs or posts on how they did full blown paintings in it - they always end up finishing on a desktop. So you need enough to sketch and get enough done that you can do final touches on your main work haul.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Arshes Nei For This Useful Post:

Vay

Thanks
    Follows
    Following