Art: school application portfolio, review needed

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

school application portfolio, review needed

-edited- took out a couple digital pieces as per unanimous recommendation, added some figure drawing. Not really sure if it's strong enough to be there.

I'm working out a portfolio for applications, mainly as a transfer to FIT as an illustration major. With the credits I have so far I think I'm still a freshman and I have a unbelievably bad academic history so I am scared out of my mind to submit my portfolio as it will either save me or finalize my rejection. So I'm just gonna take it like a man and post what I have here so far, I'd really really appreciate feedback on what I've got so far. I want to continue seriously refining this even after I submit.

Are the photos themselves looking alright? I have little experience photographing trad work.
    What pieces are the weakest, what absolutely needs to be replaced?
    Is the sketchier stuff portfolio-appropriate?
    Would this work redeem an academic failure?
    Is the digital stuff out of place?
    Should I post this in the critique center?

The folio requirements are 7-10 pieces from direct obs (don't have enough yet), 7-10 from photos, imagination or obs, and one observational landscape in charcoal or graphite (dont have that ready to post yet)

5 from direct obs:
    still life, acrylic on canvas

still life, acrylic on bristol board

20 min figure drawing, charcoal on rough newsprint

self portrait, oil on canvas

still life, acrylic on bristol board

25 min figure drawing

25 min figure drawing

25 min figure drawing

from imagination, photo ref, direct observation:
    self portrait from photo ref, water color

self portrait from photo ref, water color

photo study, photoshop

landscape from photo ref, oil on canvas