Compromises
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Compromises

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Compromises

Hello! I wasn't sure where to post this; first-timer and all that. I am in need of some advice. I'm an undergraduate student who would like to do concept art in the future. I know someone who is trying to start a greeting card company and wants me to do the artwork for the cards. She insists that she likes my work, but she sends it to someone else to be modified in photoshop. I have tried to ask her to let me know of any changes she wants me to make to the images but she wont. She seems to want a different style than what I like to do, I don't like the subject matter she asks me to draw, heck, I don't even like greeting cards.

Is compromising your style and your feelings about your artwork to make a client happy just a normal part of the job? Am I going to be getting a lot of this at other jobs in the future? Because I am not liking this at all and I don't know if I should just deal with it or back away now.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 2,155 Times in 752 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Is compromising your style and your feelings about your artwork to make a client happy just a normal part of the job?
    Yep.

Am I going to be getting a lot of this at other jobs in the future?
    Yep.

That said: unless she's paying you a lot of money, focus on doing the kind of work you want to do. Especially if you're still a student.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Noah Bradley For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    When you are getting paid by someone else to make stuff, then you do what they want you to do.

If you have a pressing need to be true to some "artistic vision" or whatever, then do that on your own dime and test the "fine art" market as a independant artist.

As the ego shrinks, so the spirit expands.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to MephistoLV For This Useful Post: