Differences in figure drawing
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Differences in figure drawing

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Differences in figure drawing

Observe. Copy. Analyze. One gesture line. C curves, not one line. Planes. Define the rib cabe and pelvis. Draw as one form. And it goes on and on.

I've had about 3 to 4 different figure drawings/anatomy teachers until now, both in college and outside, and every teacher says something different. Right now I am taking a life drawing and an anatomy course for my foundation year of college and sometimes I feel like my head is going to explode. My anatomy teacher tells me to do something and when I try to apply what she said in my life drawing class, my teacher tells me not to do that.

What should I do? It seems like every teacher feels like they know the "right way" and teach it as so. As a student, I just feel overwhelmed because I know my professors are far more skilled than I am so it is hard to evaluate what I should do and not do.

Last edited by Saraiva; November 7th, 2011 at 02:36 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Yeah, I've been going through the same, one teacher was taught by Vilppu while the other comes from a more fine art background emphasizing the picture making aspect as well as anatomy, gesture, etc. Neither are extreme though which is good and I would suggest doing the same, not taking any method to an extreme. If possible maybe try finding some non-instructed sessions, it'll give you some flexibility, i dunno

Thanks
    Follows
    Following