Art: Portfolio Inquiry.

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Portfolio Inquiry.

Good day folks. I'm very new to graphic design -- been going for about four months now -- and being new, I know, just about... very little.

Something that has been bothering me is how to put together a respectable portfolio. Since I started I've done assorted works, a few vectors (People, a couple of cars), one or two banners (For where I work, a copy store/printer/design centre), some business cards, a logo or two. You get the general idea. Anyway, I was wondering, how can I take this mess of what I've done and compile it in a way that -- for the moment -- can allow me to track my progress and if ever the time comes, can give potential schools or employers confidence in my abilities?

Also, as you may or may not have guessed, I've never had a formal education in graphic design, just a few years of art in secondary school, so bear with me if my stuff seems amateur and if you've got any tips and critiques, please don't be shy.

Also, I used to prefer traditional media, especially pencil/pen on paper (I'm not fond of paints) and I'm looking to get back into them and would like to combine the two.

Thanks.

Z.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by IAMTHEZTM; November 6th, 2011 at 07:57 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Also, one more thing. When exporting my images to PNG or JPEG, how can I reduce the size of the file, without having to manually shrink the original file?

(By the way, I'm using CorelDRAW. I know, bad word).

Again, please bear with me. Thanks.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I think a point may have been missed. I wanted to know how to shrink my files before I post any of my other works. I don't want to load up the page with gargantuan files and make everyone's systems crash.