Trying to develop my art

View testimonialsView Artwork
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Trying to develop my art

Hello everybody!
    My name's Chris and I'm a new artist that hopes for a break in the fantasy and gaming industry. I've been working as a freelance illustrator for many years with advertising agencies in my country, but I just wanted something more creative. Or should I say, something that I can use my imagination.
    Being self-taught, I have to admit that this whole new world is intimidating. There are so many talented people, each with a unique style. So, I thought I'd post here in order to develop my skills and improve my style. However, this can't be done without the constructive critique of you guys! Especially a pro's advice would be more than welcome!

Up till now I was working completely empirical. It was more like naive sketching than real drawing I guess. I didn't care about ambient light, focus points, atmospheric perspective, golden rule, etc. I dig up all this knowledge when I started reading forums like this, and that is the last 15-20 days.
    Enough with my artistic quest. Cut to the chase. This is my second entry in this community's activity, IOW7 Alien invasion. Applying the golden mean I came up with this composition. I started with a rough drawing and tried to depict the general mood and lighting conditions. I thought I'd start with a grayscale image. Establish my values and then move to detail and finally color. Will it work? I don't know. It's my first time working this way. It's an experiment to me.

So this is my first rough
    Trying to develop my art

And this is an alternative
    Trying to develop my art

I wanted to emphasize the perspective on this last one.
    It's strange but the first one looks better to me. I'd like to hear your opinion though. If there is any structural, perspective, or any other mistakes, please let me know.

Cheers to you all!

PS. Sorry for my rusty English.