Illustrating a storybook
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Illustrating a storybook

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Illustrating a storybook

Someone has offered to pay me $100 to $200 to illustrate 50 pages of a storybook in one month through Photoshop. I have to work with a 23 year old artist, who have already made the storyboard. We are using a cartoon style, not that difficult in my opinion. (He showed me the style he wants)

He mentioned that my pay might be low because I am "only a student". I thought this should not matter. Also, the contract he wanted me to sign was printed off a regular printer. Does this sound legitimate?

It is my first time getting paid to illustrate for an author, I want to know what I shall look out for.

Edit: I apologize so much, I thought he wanted a graphic novel, but when he showed me the storyboard and rough draft, they were more like storybook illustrations.

Last edited by CLANLESS; October 15th, 2011 at 04:24 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Elwell is offline Sticks Like Grim Death Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,666 Times in 5,020 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Julie G View Post
    What you need to look out for is absurdly low pay for a mountain of work. If there are only 4 panels per page, your pay rate is 25-50 dollars per panel, so I hope you can do at least 10 an hour if you want to make anywhere close to minimum wage.
    Go back and read the original post.
    Quote Originally Posted by D.M. View Post
    Someone has offered to pay me $100 to $200 to illustrate 50 pages of graphic novel in one month through Photoshop.
    Since even $100 a page would be a generous rate for this sort of thing, and nothing to apologize for, it sure sounds like the quoted price is for all 50, not per page. In which case, hoo boy.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial