Weird stroke ends with intuos 4(old)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Weird stroke ends with intuos 4(old)

    Last edited by Shahan; March 29th, 2012 at 10:56 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    this is so annoying

    is this common? is there a quickfix?

    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Since it seems to happen fairly uniformly--check your "Tip Feel" settings under the "PEN" section in the Wacom Tablet options.

    Under that, in "Details", you can alter the pressure sensitivity curve for your pen. Hit "DEFAULT" and see if that helps things out. It seems that your pen isn't using the default 1:1 pressure-to-size/opacity setting for the pen.

    (If, when you go to "Details", you don't see the little graph looking like a straight 45-degree angle and instead see some weird curve, this might very well be the issue).

    I sure hope that this made sense. I'm working on a Mac and I don't know the Windows version of the Wacom software settings screen...

    I push pixels for a living, and I love it.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Fred Lang For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred Lang View Post
    Since it seems to happen fairly uniformly--check your "Tip Feel" settings under the "PEN" section in the Wacom Tablet options.

    Under that, in "Details", you can alter the pressure sensitivity curve for your pen. Hit "DEFAULT" and see if that helps things out. It seems that your pen isn't using the default 1:1 pressure-to-size/opacity setting for the pen.

    (If, when you go to "Details", you don't see the little graph looking like a straight 45-degree angle and instead see some weird curve, this might very well be the issue).

    I sure hope that this made sense. I'm working on a Mac and I don't know the Windows version of the Wacom software settings screen...
    does this look about right?

    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Hm, not quite! That diagonal in "PROFILE" should track neatly from the bottom left corner to the top right. Maybe the fact that the line terminates before reaching that top right corner is the issue? When you click that "DEFAULT" button, does the top of the diagonal line scoot over to the far top right hand corner of the "PROFILE" box?

    I push pixels for a living, and I love it.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Fred Lang For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred Lang View Post
    Hm, not quite! That diagonal in "PROFILE" should track neatly from the bottom left corner to the top right. Maybe the fact that the line terminates before reaching that top right corner is the issue? When you click that "DEFAULT" button, does the top of the diagonal line scoot over to the far top right hand corner of the "PROFILE" box?


    i didnt know that the mod this thread : http://conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=154862

    was talking about which is sticked... is.. doing this... hmm.. maybe i did it wrong....

    look at this though..

    is there a HUGe difference their? o.o idk im confused

    EDIT: meaning yeah my settings are NOT the default... but i did that because the thread told me to and it works for pressure sensitivity really well.. helps nibware... however i dont think thats the issue since the difference with the stroke ends isnt that different... im going to try a stroke nib

    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    No, it should ideally track in an intuitive fashion when you're drawing.

    Does this happen on other software "brushes" you use, or just this specific one?

    I push pixels for a living, and I love it.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Fred Lang For This Useful Post:


  11. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    seems to be with all my brushes

    got the info from this site

    http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=77043

    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Shahan For This Useful Post:


  13. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Well, darn. You've exhausted my Wacom-Fu. Sorry. :-/

    I push pixels for a living, and I love it.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Fred Lang For This Useful Post:


  15. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    gah its okay.. i actually really appreciate your input! at least you had a look at this thread... no one else did haha xD
    thank you very much anyway sir!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  16. #11
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Well several questions,

    What driver are you using?
    Did you experience this behavior doing the mod/ or with other drivers?
    Do you have the Tablet PC service Disabled if you're using Windows7 ?

    Is the tablet nib clean? No little splinters or anything?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Arshes Nei For This Useful Post:


  18. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    Well several questions,

    What driver are you using?
    Did you experience this behavior doing the mod/ or with other drivers?
    Do you have the Tablet PC service Disabled if you're using Windows7 ?

    Is the tablet nib clean? No little splinters or anything?
    latest driver, but had this problem on all previous drivers

    with and with out mod i dont use the curve tool i do it manually. and i often set it to default and clear my tablet pref to test it with out any interference.

    yes i do have that disabled i used GPEDIT.msc in windows7 ultimate.

    EDIT: using many different nibs. i extract the nib and tap it to get anyt debris out.
    i have intuos4 black standard brand new nibs and intuos 3 nibs and stroke nibs.. stroke nibs kinda fix this but
    it should be fine with regular nibs.. im not the only one with this problem the wacom forums also have accounts of this

    using photoshop cs5 64bit

    my pc has 4gb RAM

    maybe i missed something in this wacom thread http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5366

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  19. #13
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Do you get the same stroke error in another program?

    http://wistinga.online.fr/opencanvas/ see if the stroke error is present in this program for example.

    If not then it's something to do with the way the driver is communicating with PS.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to Arshes Nei For This Useful Post:


  21. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    ahh right you are Arshes Nei http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7776#p32483


    i'll test this when i get home later today, thank you

    wow i mean this looks better compared to.... and GOD DAMN its like.. a FREEEEE software... and photoshopcs5 isss.. fucking me here... just wow...

    the pressure ends are still just a tad bit off on bigger brushes

    this image is with open canvas

    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Shahan; October 13th, 2011 at 10:19 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  22. #15
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I'm getting an internal server error for the link but I remember someone giving steps to trying an uninstall process to help as well as disabling pen flicks.

    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=202736

    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=224591

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to Arshes Nei For This Useful Post:


  24. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    i see... uhhhm if you type "http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5366"

    into google and click the first hit it should work.

    and yeah this seems to be a software issue. im looking at you rlinks arshes and im nto sure if those people solved the problem...

    can this thread be moved to the photoshop section?

    also im testing all kinds of software from this list : " http://www.wacom.eu/index2.asp?pid=18 " if that doesnt work google it and hit the first hit.
    any software from that list that has the blue ribbon should be wacom specific technology so should be promising.

    getting the same weird ends with CS3 photoshop.

    and i will try what the person said in your links THANK you that may help... the wacom pro driver is totally new to me.

    im obsessed with this already so will be posting more data.



    do you have the same issue with your... im assuming intuos? whats your loadout for painting digitally? program? hardware ? stuff? may help me

    thank you Arshes Nei

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  25. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    So ok... im coming up with a process i'm hoping you can help me here Arshes ...

    So basically im going to save (backup) my prefs or write them down and even clear as to be thorough...

    ill clear my computer of ALL wacom software and <- how do i do that... i once had an email that had a .bat file that did it once... is there any foolproof way you know of?

    2nd i clear my photoshop preferences <- wich also i dont knwo exactly how to do... please let me know.

    3rd try different programs and drivers.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  26. #18
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sporus View Post
    i see... uhhhm if you type "http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5366"


    do you have the same issue with your... im assuming intuos? whats your loadout for painting digitally? program? hardware ? stuff? may help me

    thank you Arshes Nei
    It was an issue earlier with Wacom's site that's why the internal server error. It worked later today.

    I have several intuos (I've gone through every one that has been made 1-4), a Motion Computing Slate, along with the fact I'm living with a fellow artist friend who I end up being the technical troubleshooter for electronic related stuff.

    The intuos3 are VERY picky with photoshop. The latest English/US driver fails every few minutes, so I've had to roll back.

    Previous versions sometimes didn't detect pressure sensitivity. I am now primarily using Windows 7 so the Tablet PC/Wacom driver conflicts are more of a problem - which I have resolved by disabling the service.

    However, previously disabling this service causes another problem. If you are a Netflix subscriber it actually caused Silverlight/Netflix to crash in your browser.

    Intuos 4 I've had less problems with sans for intuos4 hardware (loose usb ports is the topic started by me).

    I primarily use the following software, in order of most usage. I don't Paint as much in Photoshop anymore because of my love for Painter, Sai and their blending techniques.

    Corel Painter (versions I've used Classic, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12)
    Open Canvas (1.1, 3.3, 4, 5)
    Easy Paint Tool Sai
    Photoshop Elements (don't remember which version, but I use that more than CS because I just need the save for web option the most - )
    Photoshop (CS, CS3, CS4, CS5)
    ArtRage

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  27. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    It was an issue earlier with Wacom's site that's why the internal server error. It worked later today.

    I have several intuos (I've gone through every one that has been made 1-4), a Motion Computing Slate, along with the fact I'm living with a fellow artist friend who I end up being the technical troubleshooter for electronic related stuff.

    The intuos3 are VERY picky with photoshop. The latest English/US driver fails every few minutes, so I've had to roll back.

    Previous versions sometimes didn't detect pressure sensitivity. I am now primarily using Windows 7 so the Tablet PC/Wacom driver conflicts are more of a problem - which I have resolved by disabling the service.

    However, previously disabling this service causes another problem. If you are a Netflix subscriber it actually caused Silverlight/Netflix to crash in your browser.

    Intuos 4 I've had less problems with sans for intuos4 hardware (loose usb ports is the topic started by me).

    I primarily use the following software, in order of most usage. I don't Paint as much in Photoshop anymore because of my love for Painter, Sai and their blending techniques.

    Corel Painter (versions I've used Classic, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12)
    Open Canvas (1.1, 3.3, 4, 5)
    Easy Paint Tool Sai
    Photoshop Elements (don't remember which version, but I use that more than CS because I just need the save for web option the most - )
    Photoshop (CS, CS3, CS4, CS5)
    ArtRage
    wow thank you!!!

    i need your advice on what to do...

    So my set up is Windows 7 ultimate and an intuos4 with the latest driver.
    programs: Photoshop CS5, now using open canvas, and downloaded art rage... but it seems

    So what i plan on doing.. and tell me if its a good idea or not:
    -maybe roll back my OS to windows XP

    -more likely i may switch to Corel Painter, i have versions 10 , 11 and 12 but haven't use them much


    and with the intuos4 loose usb do you mean the micro/mini thats attatched to the tablet itself??? cuz yeah that pisses me off.. i feel like im gonna break the port. or the wire... id rather break the wire than the port... the wire is replacable the port... wel... i may need a new tablet... wich i DO NOT want to do.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  28. #20
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Well I think you're really better off with Windows 7 it's just PS giving you the problem.

    Another thread mentioned that there is some file PS reads to recognize the tablet.

    One thing could be is to

    Factory Restore Photoshop
    Delete the preferences file for Wacom
    Uninstall the Wacom Driver
    REBOOT

    Install a driver version that was older


    I also saw this ...may be worth a shot?
    http://gunnergurl.deviantart.com/art...sure-258720857

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  29. The Following User Says Thank You to Arshes Nei For This Useful Post:


  30. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    Well I think you're really better off with Windows 7 it's just PS giving you the problem.

    Another thread mentioned that there is some file PS reads to recognize the tablet.

    One thing could be is to

    Factory Restore Photoshop
    Delete the preferences file for Wacom
    Uninstall the Wacom Driver
    REBOOT

    Install a driver version that was older


    I also saw this ...may be worth a shot?
    http://gunnergurl.deviantart.com/art...sure-258720857
    ... you wont beleive this....... at first i thought it was this
    : having two types of pressur esensitivty activbated at the same time... like maybe that was glitching or something.


    but




    so the fucking culprit... test this with yours please lemme know what happenes... stroke the brush erratically with out smoothing tell me what you see...




    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  31. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    1,090
    Thanked 353 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    FUCKKKKKKK Sai's pressure ends are downright SEXy in comparison and the fucking thing is FREEEEE

    fuck wacom fuck photshop

    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  32. #23
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    It's not free it's about 60-80 bucks but much less expensive than Photoshop

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  33. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    fine land
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    In my opinion it's not any different, the Sai's pressure sensitivity you're presenting is not smooth either. I mean if your photoshop strokes looked like condoms before, now they look like, i dunno but still weird. I have the same problem and i don't think Sai reads the tablets motion any better. I'd have wanted a linear decrease when the stroke ends, not like a 2 centimeter long very thin tip.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  34. The Following User Says Thank You to Joona For This Useful Post:


  35. #25
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Yes, this topic is old, but the OP had posted about the shoelace effect before you bumped this topic

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  36. The Following User Says Thank You to Arshes Nei For This Useful Post:


  37. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Paris, france
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Like I said before, it's a mechanical problem from the stylet that is present from ages.
    It's much more present in Photoshop because it's not doing any post process smoothing

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  38. The Following User Says Thank You to funshark For This Useful Post:


Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •