Sketchbook: Learning to draw...

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Learning to draw...

Hi guys,I use this thread to explain who I am & why I am here.

My name is Marco,I am a 23 years old self-taught 3d artist that is trying to achieve a level of skills good enough to work in a software house that makes videogames,working on the 3d modeling part...& by the way,I am Italian,so I hope my english is good enough to be understood

Here you can see some of my 3d works http://marcusaseth.carbonmade.com/projects/3711568#1 ...nothing impressive or "artistic" I know,but there is still time to improve myself...

& now the reason why I am here:

In order to became a good 3d artist,able to do things better than a barrel or a stupid mace,for example able to do something like "a woman riding a snake" in 3d, I figure out that for example I need to know anatomy of the body,or if I want to make an incredible 3d scene,like a "city on top of a floating island" I need the skills to draw a concept of that environment.

Now,I know that there are amazing Concept Artists like you guys to do that,but I still think that developing those skills,even if a base level,could really improve my ability to understand the shapes the volumes of a thing & maybe even improving my creativity or some other benefits!
    For sure,this help me to create better 3d stuff,because usually i run trough the phase of the modeling maybe not thinking enough about what could I do to make my 3d stuff looking better (for example that mace on that portfolio),so,maybe if I stop a moment in with a pencil thinking about how could I improve it,this could make my life easier in the modeling process & give better results at the end of the work.