Thanks

Going to new york in october, any advice on what to see, artwise?

Staying in chelsea, and definitely visiting some of the museums. Any tips for less famous places to visit or just general advice?

So excited for this trip, I'm a cook, so ive mostly been making myself crazy with what and where to eat, but cant pass up the opportunity to see great art while im in a city like this.

Help a swedish chef, earn a bork.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,535 Times in 567 Posts
    When in October? I'm going too for my show. If it's the 22nd then stop in for the opening. There are a few places I always hit. The Society of Illustrators on 63rd, Met, some publishers, and a few galleries but I'm picky. I'm sure there are people on here who know a lot more and will help you out.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to bcarman For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Definitely go to the Met. It's my fave!

6. The Following User Says Thank You to Bourin For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Yeah, the Met is mandatory for any artist visiting NY.

There also happens to be an Ingres show:
    http://www.themorgan.org/exhibitions...tion.asp?id=51

8. The Following User Says Thank You to Greg Lambrakis For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 5,192 Times in 1,728 Posts
    Well, Arcadia will be in walking distance, as well as a whole bunch of other galleries.

In terms of eating, that's totally dependent on budgeting. I've been to a host of NYC hot spots that cost me in the $100 range for just my meal. I'd recommend instead looking for a trendy restaurant in Chelsea and making reservations in advance. Do some internet searching on that.

Good luck.