Art: A different sort of animation - Opinions pls!

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

A different sort of animation - Opinions pls!

Hey everyone, first post here. I'm looking for some feedback on my work. I'm a self taught photoshop junkie. This hobby has evolved into a strange beast since I started experimenting with stacking old stereographs and seeing how they look when they're animated. If you don't know, the type of stereograph I'm referring to are the ones taken back in the day with 2 different angled lenses. These were placed into a viewer and were an early 3-d 'tool'. It's kind of a lengthy process, just ask if you want me to elaborate. Anyway, what started with this:

Eventually evolved with color and movement, into this:

Just wondering what you all think. I've taken a little break from animating due to what is probably arthritis in my hands, and I've been thinking about taking this hobby back up. I just don't know if it would be all that beneficial, or ever really go anywhere. Would love some opinions, critique, etc. I'm not looking to change these so much, I see a lot of potential for improvement, but will likely take what I learn and apply it to any future work... if I get back into doing it. Thanks

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    That's pretty neat! The only thing that looks a bit weird is how the turning animation looks really jerky.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Karisee View Post
    That's pretty neat! The only thing that looks a bit weird is how the turning animation looks really jerky.
    Yeah, the background is almost always jerky. It's pretty distracting, but there's not a really easy way to get around it. There are a few reasons.