Art lessons for a seven year-old?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Art lessons for a seven year-old?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Art lessons for a seven year-old?

I'm supplementing my income- or lack there of- by giving private drawing lessons to a friend's daughter. She's 7 years old, and pretty bright. I have very little experience with kids but she tells me her school has no art classes whatsoever.

So we've had our first lesson and i started out with the basics of the color wheel. I made her some activities to teach her about complimentary colors. She picked it up pretty fast and told her dad she had fun.

But I'm wondering where I should go from here. My instinct is seven is too young to start digging into realism and real drawing techniques. She seems much more interested in drawing flowers and unicorns. So I figure, go for it! Right? Is it better to encourage her to draw what she likes and foster a real love for art?

Or should I focus more on actual techniques?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,484 Times in 719 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Unicorns, rainbows and ponies all the way.
    At that age fun > everything.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Perhaps you can get in some basic teaching trough drawing flowers, rainbows and unicorns?

I have no intention of becoming a professional artist, I just aspire to become a really good amateur.

Sketchbook: w176 love of the color dirt

Thanks
    Thanked 1,208 Times in 775 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I would focus on the subjects she likes while trying to introduce some good foundation info in small amounts.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by dierat View Post
    I would focus on the subjects she likes while trying to introduce some good foundation info in small amounts.
    This.