Art: Trevor Smith fantasy/sci-fi portfolio.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Trevor Smith fantasy/sci-fi portfolio.

Howdy everyone. I am a long time member here and a frequent participant in CHOW and the critique section. A lot of my best art in the last year has come from CHOW and some of you may recognize them

My dream is to do book covers for companies like TOR and Wizards of the Coast. My secondary goal is to do other freelance work for whatever I can find involving fantasy and sci-fi subject matter.

I graduated in 2009 from the Academy of Art University. I have found VERY little work and made very few contacts. I hope to turn that around. Please view my website and tell me if you like my work, but also if you like the way my site works. I have spent a lot of time evolving it and I want it to be right. And would it benefit me/my site if I included a sketches section?

http://www.TrevorSmithArt.com

And here are a few to preview:

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by Artfix; August 26th, 2011 at 02:35 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm no expert on portfolios so I won't say too much about that, but I think it looks good, keeping in mind that it is geared towards book covers and illustration.

As for your site though, I do have a few comments.

The site is pretty slow for me. Especially the fading in and out of pictures gets pretty tedious pretty fast.

I also got a little confused by your main page. I started out clicking "Digital", then went to see "Oil paintings", and then when I clicked on "Illustration" I got the same page as "Digital" - I hadn't realized that it was actually "Fine Art Oil Paintings" and "Digital Illustration". I'm not sure the different fonts within a heading is a good idea, or maybe it could work if you space things so that it is clear that there are two headings, not four.