Wacom + Android (3.1+)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Icon Wacom + Android (3.1+)

Hello All!

This is my first post on this website so please bear with me.

I am an engineer/artist. I use an intuos 3 along with photoshop or gimp to create illustrations. I also use a lot of traditional art and scanning then digital inking.

What I desire most is an Android tablet that offers "low-temp" 7+ hours of operation, use with an application that uses full-color, layers, pressure-sensitivity, and a Wacom Penabled Digitizer pen. Such a combination does not exist. I called Wacom and they told me they're making no efforts to support Android OS.

So now the disappointed artist in me asks the engineer, "How do I get a solution?"

The answer, "make it myself!"

Combining a Wacom development sensor kit (http://www.wacom-components.com/prod.../developerKits), a 10.1" 3.1+ android tablet (Presumably Moto Xoom2), current Wacom-Android tablet designs (http://www.yankodesign.com/2011/02/2...ltitouch-wacom), and Android Driver development, I would create the ultimate mobile digital sketchbook.

What I'd like feedback on is whether or not this is worth pursuing. So far I think as an Android fan I'm going to be stuck with N-Trig and Lenovo-proprietary styli for quite a while if I don't attempt something myself.

TIA - Bram

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    welcome to the forum..

Loads of DIY vids on youtube that converts wacom intuos tablets into cintiq.. the hassle that you go through, the warranty you void, the guarantee that you don't have, is it all worth it? to me, i wouldn't do it, even if it was a piece of cake DIY.

I do understand that you love your Android tablet, but IMO, keep everything to serve its purpose.

get a portable tablet that does the job.

that's me after all.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Good feedback!