Thanks

Pay after print ?

He guys, I already worked with some publishers from different countries, but recently I just got a job offer with a "pay after release" sentence.

Meaning I finnish the piece, they print in a couple of months and + 2 months or so I finally get paid.

Because thats the first time I ever came across such a thing (usually my clients pay within 2 or 3 weeks) I wanted to ask if that is a widely spread or even common regulation?

Any experience with that ?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I'm not an artist, and can't really speak for the industry specifically, but that smells. Personally, I'd pay my artist within 30 days AT LEAST. I know if I did any code or computer work, I'd want the bill to be settled in 30 days or less. Generally its 14 days or "on receipt."

Sounds like they don't have money and want you to work on credit.

Thanks
    Thanked 16,685 Times in 5,021 Posts
    It's bullshit, and nowhere near industry standard. There is one well known tabletop/ccg game company that does this, and it drives me crazy that they manage to get people to go along with it.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."
    -Marc Maron

Thanks
    Thanked 2,185 Times in 755 Posts
    Actually a couple of the big names do this. And another one has no trouble with 4 months+ before payment.

But it's still wrong & annoying.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,406 Times in 562 Posts
    If it smells like bullshit, it probably is bullshit. Or at least fecal matter of some sort, and most certainly is something you shouldn't digest.